2013 Okanagan Marathon – 1 Week Out

OK 1

It’s almost time to do that thing again.

Last week went well, leaving me feeling fast and relaxed. The taper crazies haven’t reared their ugly heads (yet), which is unusual since I’m typically panicking by this point about every little ache and pain, and worrying that I haven’t trained enough/too much/haven’t tapered correctly/whatever. I have been having little flashes of “oh shit, what is going to come of this race?” but then I remember that I relinquished my lofty goals and I’m just going out there and doing what I love to do for (hopefully way less than) four hours.

Monday – Easy 3m/5k with Jamie

She didn’t feel like running, but I made her. She thanked me later. 😉

Tuesday – Rest

Wednesday – 4 x 800 on the treadmill (more like dreadmill) + yoga

Since I’m convinced that the treadmill doesn’t provide as good of a workout as running on the track does, I pushed the pace for a 6:43-6:58/mile pace for the repeats. I remembered the days of being excited about running 8:00/mile during speedwork on the ‘mill and felt good about myself.

Thursday – Rest

Friday – Easy 3m/5k with Jamie and Tiff

It was a warm evening and a beautiful run. Aside from having a stuffy nose every time I head out (I think due to the falling leaves), fall running is not bad.

Saturday – 6 miles of Cruise Intervals

I may have mentioned this before, but cruise intervals are a type of tempo run. They are a bit faster than tempo pace, but a more relaxed pace and longer interval than speedwork. The idea is to maintain a moderately hard pace but not push too fast.

My workout summary: 1 mile warm up, 1 mile @ 8:01, 3 x 0.75 mile @ 7:59, 8:03, 8:00 with 0.25 mile recovery, 1 mile cool down.

Afterwards I felt nauseous (I blame the Vietnamese food I ate on Friday) and suffered aching legs and head due to the Chinook winds that blew through.

2013-10-05 11.49.37

warm winds, big pain.

Sunday – 6.2m/10km Long Run @ 8:56/m pace (time 55:27)

A nice fall morning run on a hilly course. I felt relaxed and strong, and I’m happy with my pace. I had another flashback to my first 10k race at 16, and I finished in about 1:15 and I thought I was going to die. It felt like the hardest thing I’ve ever done. And now, I can pound out the same distance in 20 minutes less at a relaxed pace. Very cool.

Other things that happened this week:

Took Chelsea and Jamie to an art show.

2013-10-05 21.56.17-2

I never realize how tall I actually am until I am pictured with normal-height people.

2013-10-05 21.23.34

Got new shoes for Sunday (I know, I know, “no new shoes before a race” but this is my third pair of Adios plus I did all last weeks runs in them so they’re not THAT new plus they are purple).

2013-10-07 10.24.21

Finally got back into my parkade! It had to be completely redone after the flood. No more street parking for me!

Shiny new parkade and my dirty car.

Shiny new parkade and my dirty car.

Spent some quality time with the cat.

2013-10-07 18.57.01

One thought on “2013 Okanagan Marathon – 1 Week Out

Leave a Reply

