Let’s all just chill the F out here for a minute.

As a stubborn Type-A with a penchant for overdoing some things, it’s hard for me to take some unplanned time off even when it’s for my own good. But every once in a while something comes along that allows me to break schedule and only freak out mildly. This happened on Tuesday when the words “potential stress fracture” were uttered to me. Ahhhh shit.

Monday was a rest day. I had a sore throat, which freaked me out. But after some rest it went away and by Tuesday I was back to normal-ish.

Tuesday I had planned to run before my 8:30am physio appointment, but since I was feeling a bit under the weather I decided to be smart and get some extra sleep. I figured that if by chance I felt better (sickness and leg-wise) after work I would go. Apparently I forgot how brutal physio can be, and this was much worse than getting my hipped worked on last summer.

First she poked around and freaked me out by uttering the words “stress fracture” since the pain in my shins is so localized. But since the spot is more on the muscle than the bone, she figured to treat me for a couple sessions before sending me for a bone scan. She used the ultrasound machine on my shins, and since that caused no pain my PT was more confident I was fracture-free.

There. That's what hurts.

There. That’s what hurts.

Then we boiled my legs.

2014-01-21 09.07.02

And then she cupped my shins to loosen up the muscles prior to the IMS (aka needling). Which felt not bad.

And then went at it with the needles. On the top of my legs it hurt and felt some “grabbing” of the needle. But nothing could have prepared me for the flip-flopping feeling the needling produced in my calves. It was intense. So much that she had to hold down my legs to prevent them from twitching. Gross.

(I found an IMS video that I thought I would post, but watching it made me want to barf so I won’t force you to do the same. Unless you want to)

After 10 minutes of the electrode machine I was sent on my way with an appointment booked for next week. Walking was painful, but driving to work (in a standard) was worse. It felt like someone was stabbing me in the calves. No running tonight. Just some online shopping and hip flexor massages courtesy of Ashes the cat.

ashy massage

Followed by a warm cat lap compress.

Wednesdsay my calves still felt pretty tight and I felt pressure in the front of my shin, so I opted for another day of non-running and instead had a 30 min elliptical session with some easy legs (focusing on lower leg and hip stabilizers) and core. I iced pretty religiously all evening.

photo 1

What is this godforsaken contraption?

Thursday I rocked compression socks and ice packs at work.

photo(28)

Thursday also marked the opening day of Lululemon’s Seawheeze Half Marathon registration. For about a year, Jamie, Chelsea and I had our sights set on this race as their first half marathon so we were obviously pretty excited about it. And, when 10:00am PST rolled around, we jumped on the seawheeze site to register. Along with what seems to be the majority of people doing the same, we weren’t able to because the website could not handle the amount of people trying to access it, and is down until further notice. Obviously we were annoyed that this put a hiccup in our plans, and we still don’t know if we’ll be able to get a spot. But the massive twitter outrage sparked by this…. ok guys seriously (look up #seawheeze on twitter if you’re curious). We all obviously want to run this, but let’s take a step back down to reality. Yes, it’s a big goal for most people, and yes, it’s a great time part of a fun weekend. But is it really worth freaking the fuck out about something you have no control over? I’m sure Lululemon is doing the best they can with what they’ve got, same as the rest of us. I don’t know about you, but I’d prefer to reserve my energy and emotions for something that will have a bit more bearing on my life. It’s not life or death here people. It’s just a race. Take a deep breath, come up with a plan B, and maybe next time don’t have so much riding on one single event. It’s all going to be ok.

[/endrant]

Friday found out that Seawheeze registration will reopen Monday, Feb 3, but over 80% are still open so we stand a chance at getting in. I did some strength intervals at lunch. Purely Twins have some great quick workouts to do at home or the gym (depending on equipment available), and they also provide loads of food food advice!

That evening Jamie, Chelsea and I had big plans to go to the gym, but ended up eating burritos, drinking beer and playing board games instead.

Saturday I went up to Sunshine with my mom to ski around on my own while she was in a ski lesson. It was a beautiful day.

2014-01-25 10.42.09 2014-01-25 10.41.45 2014-01-25 10.41.37

The day got a bit more exciting than anticipated when my mom had a fall and twisted her ankle. Thinking it was a sprain but wanting to be sure, we went to the hospital in Banff to get it checked out. It wasn’t a sprain, but instead a talus fracture.

Since X-Rays will only show so much, she needs a CT scan to determine how far the fracture extends into the bone (which is today). Hopefully it’s minor!

Sunday I managed to get out for a 8 mile run. I played around with some KT Tape and taped my shins for the first time, and success! I definitely didn’t feel as much pressure and the muscles in my lower legs felt as though they were firing correctly again.

2014-01-26 16.22.43

Moral of the week? Sometimes things happen that we can’t anticipate, and usually these things are pretty inconvenient. I generally believe that when these inconveniences happen you have three options:

1) Make a change.

2) Remove yourself from the situation.

3) Accept it.

Notice how bitching and moaning isn’t an option? That’s because it doesn’t solve anything and just annoys everyone around you. Now take a deep breath. It’s all going to be ok!

9 thoughts on “Let’s all just chill the F out here for a minute.

  1. I am impressed with your level of dedication to rehabbing your injury. Usually I just sit on the couch with an ice pack on my injured spot and cry into my wine glass.

    Also, that photo from your ski trip – OMG. Breathtaking.

  2. KT tape has saved my shins on more than one occasion when running. Glad you took the time off. A wise person once said to me…I’d rather take 3 days off to rest than 3 months off due to injury. I have stuck to that philosophy and it has treated me well so far.

  3. Hey Victoria,

    I found your blog through Sweaty Emily’s blog – you mentioned Banff on her wanderlust post, and I got intrigued. I’m also from Calgary, looking forward to reading about your training. Hope your shins feel better soon, happy running!

  4. Found you through the Canadian runners/bloggers group on FB and thought I’d say hi as I’m from Calgary as well. I have never had issues with my shins before, but hurt my knee/hip last year training for my first full marathon. Being hurt sucks! Hopefully you get everything sorted out soon.

Leave a Reply

