Off to Austin!

Hi everyone! This week I was busy with some work training so I didn’t have a chance to post a training recap for last week. But here it is. I threw in this week for good measure too although there isn’t much there.

But exciting news! I’m off to Austin for a week! Dan and I are visiting my cousin, and I’m running the Austin Half Marathon. I’m taking it as a training/see where I’m at/please don’t die shins run with little expectations. But for the most part I hope to be doing lots of this:

austin2

From my last trip to Austin

LAST WEEK

Monday since I took Sunday off, I was craving some time in the water (WEIRD I KNOW). I did a 50 min pool fartlek workout, which was alright. I still don’t feel like I get AS good of a workout in the pool as I do on land, but that’s probably because my form is not up to par. In fact, when I saw this article, I could totally relate to Figure 2 below.

Tuesday I felt bold before my early morning physio workout. I didn’t tape my shins but I did a stair interval workout at the gym. 10 min warm up, 10 min stair repeats, 5 min run, 10 min stairs, 5 cool down. They didn’t feel great from all that. Physio however went well and I wasn’t immobilized after, which is an improvement.

Wednesday morning I felt no real pain and decided I would run on the treadmill at lunch. While walking over to the gym I realized I left the KT Tape at my desk, but didn’t want to lengthen the amount of time I spent outdoors so I decided I would just see how far I got. The answer to that was 3 miles (out of the planned 5). Well, actually I got to 2.5 before the pain set in, and finished up the 3 then did the remaining 2 on the elliptical (at 180 strides/min).

After this, my mood went down the toilet. I felt a weird spasm/niggle/pain occasionally in my right calf. Great. Something new. I felt generally defeated and scared that I won’t be able to reach my goals this year. I didn’t even want to work out at this point. I just want to go home and cuddle my cat and cry into some wine. Completely over this injury business. I just want to get back to putting real miles into my spreadsheet, not “estimates based on pool time” to make myself feel better. I want to say “yes!” to meeting up with friends for a long weekend run. I want to get excited about the thought of running snowy trails, not wince with the thought of how much pain it’d bring me.

Nothing describes frustration quite like Kim Kardashian’s crying face (source)

I don’t like feeling defeated. In the past I would wallow in my disappointment (typically in myself) and let it eat me up. I am, however, getting increasingly better at pulling myself out of the slumps and finding a solution. Growing up my parents had very little tolerance for self pity, and now I’m finally finding that I can limit my wallowing and actually DO something to better the situation.

So in this case, I decided I want to be in an inflammation-eliminating, injury-healing machine and picked up some calcium, vitamin D, vitamin C, Omega 3, and some MSM combo supplement (to help with soft tissue repair). Down the hatch they went followed by a glass of wine as I finished the poster for this year’s Epilepsy E-Race.

Anti-Inflammation Super-Healing Arsenal

Anti-Inflammation Super-Healing Arsenal

After hearing about the “amazing anti-inflammatory properties” of turmeric I decided to pick up some fresh turmeric root and make some tea with it plus honey. It tastes pretty good, but if you decide to go this route head my warning: IT TURNS EVERYTHING YELLOW.

2014-02-10 07.28.09

EVERYTHING

Post-turmeric tea toothbrush. Gross.

Post-turmeric tea toothbrush. Gross.

Thursday morning I was ULTRA sure to tape my shins, and got up bright and early to run a hilly workout on the treadmill:

1 mile 0% incline

1 mile increasing incline by 0.5% every 0.05 mile

1 mile 0% incline

1 mile changing the incline gradually with step backs (0.5, 0, 1.0, 0.5, 1.5, 1.0, 2.0…. etc) every 0.05 mile

1 mile 0% incline

All at a 9:35ish pace.

The shins were a little tender but a major improvement from the day before. I did some strength training at lunch.

2014-02-08 09.48.20

My latest taping method

Friday more lunchtime strength training (core, arms and back focused) followed by a tempo interval workout in the evening (3 x 1 mile @ 8:00, 7:47, 7:47 with 400m recovery between) and a half hour of pool running.

Saturday had a scheduled 22km-ish run but under strict orders from my physio to not run more than 10k, I did 1 hour on the elliptical, 1 hour on the treadmill, then 20 min pool running while Jamie kept me company. Shins taped and in compression socks. I got to watch the Dufour-Lapointe sisters win gold and silver in freestyle skiing and was the only person in the gym crying on the treadmill.

!!!! SO proud.

!!!! SO proud.

Sunday I yoga’d! Leela Eco Spa has a great hips and back class that is perfect for runners. I also read this about yoga and inflammation, and since I’m all about reducing inflammation these days let’s bring on the yoga.

This week was a tough one to get through mentally (I will admit some of it was hormonal). It took a lot to get back to being positive and trust that I WILL get better and feel strong once again.

THIS WEEK

Like I mentioned before, this week was a little out of the ordinary. The only runs I had were a fun 3.5 mile tempo (2 miles @ 7:53 and felt great) and a short hill workout the next day, in which I couldn’t figure out why I felt so tired until I remembered that I tempo’d the day before. I also finally wore my Oiselle Lux top (with the Lesley tights) so it was the comfiest run of all time. The lux material definitely lives up to its hype.

2014-02-12 16.52.15

I also got to meet Mandy’s daughter (weeeeirdddd!) Hadley! She’s perfect and smells nice like a baby.

2014-02-12 20.52.02

Anyhoos, I am off bright and early tomorrow morn! I won’t be on here for a while, but get on Twitter and Instagram if you want to follow my ATX adventures in real time. They’ll be good, I promise.

austin3

Let’s play spot the pale Canadian at the Canada theme party

4 thoughts on “Off to Austin!

  1. Have you looked into orthotics for your shin pain? I got custom orthotics last summer and they made a significant difference in my shins. I still need to go for “tune ups” occasionally, but the long mileage doesn’t affect them as much.

    I could easily give Oiselle all of my money. All of it. I’m thinking my race outfit for the Calgary 50k will be Oiselle 🙂

    Have a great time in Austin! I’m off to Orlando in six days 🙂

    • I have not! But that is interesting and I’ll consider it! I ran today and they actually felt pretty good.
      I love everything I’ve gotten from Oiselle so much. I hope some stores in calgary start carrying it soon…

      Have fun in Orlando! I hope we both come home to warm weather.

Leave a Reply

