Running Strike – Week 1

With week one of my running streak is complete, things are going pretty well. I’m still taking it day by day, but generally my shins (especially my misbehaving right shin) are feeling much better. Old Me at the point would’ve thought “hey! I’m feeling mostly better lets get back at it” but New Me knows that this injury likes to rear it’s stupid head again and again when you’re think you’re close to being out of the woods. New Me wants to be way the fuck away from those woods before she hops back into her running shoes.

Why two weeks? First off, that’s what my trainer recommended. I didn’t question him. Maybe I should have? Either way, it seemed like a good chunk of time since after a week I’m typically feeling “good enough to run” but something ends up hurting. Secondly, I am registered for the Glencoe Icebreaker 10k on April 6 and intend on running it. It would be nice to get a couple easy runs in before hand so I plan on giving that a try next Wednesday or Thursday.

But this strike does not mean I’m not training! Oh no. I’ve been filling the running-shaped void in my life with various other cross training, reduced-to-no impact activities.

Spin classes have taken the place of my tempo runs and track workouts, and pool running the longer, slower distances. Last Saturday I successfully completed my first long run in the pool (2hr, 45 min).

my new treadmill

(source)

If you think that “running” for nearly three hours in your neighborhood gym’s dive tank would be painfully boring, and you would be right. But it’s less painful if you procure one of these little guys.

It’s a waterproof iPod bag with a headphone jack! Don’t ask me how the headphone jack works in the water because I don’t know, it just does. It’s science.

Anyways, I loaded up my iPod with Hunger Games on audiobook (entertaining, doesn’t require much brain-thinking) and went for it. Soon enough two hours went by, and I really only dreaded the last half hour. I was hungry, had to pee, and was looking forward to my massage that afternoon. But all in all, it was good and I’m not totally dreading this Saturday morning when I get to do it all over again (but for longer).

At least I can reward myself with food after.

Another exciting thing I did this week was swim laps for the first time in… oh… two years? I did it quite a bit in University and after, but got out of the habit. I decided to go for 45 minutes, and would basically do laps of front crawl until I got tired and then I would throw in a lap of breast stroke. I swam 1500m in total. It took me a while to get into it and find my stride (stroke?) but the last 500m I had no issue holding the front crawl for several laps at a time. In the end, I really enjoyed it and hope to throw one swim workout into the mix once a week going forward.

Mentally I’m feeling pretty good. The frustration I had with being injured and the anger I had towards two small parts of my lower legs has dissolved and I’m feeling relaxed, happy and healthy. I think I stand a good chance of having an enjoyable, pain-free race as long as I keep myself fit and healthy (being injury free) even though Vancouver might not hold the PR I had previously hoped for. But who knows! I’ve never trained for a race before in this way. Anything could happen.

5 thoughts on “Running Strike – Week 1

  1. That ipod bag is totally awesome, what a great idea!

    I was surprised about how “okay” I was with taking 2 weeks off running recently because of an injury, I thought I would go stir crazy, but I managed. It’s worth it for your body.

    Great job finding an alternative to keep you training.

Leave a Reply

