Liebster

I’ve been nominated for  Liebster Award by Leana! What fun. A Liebster is a pass-it-on questionnaire for bloggers, where you are asked 10 questions about yourself then nominate 10 people to answer 10 questions that you come up with.

Here are my answers to Leana’s questions:

1. What is one piece of gear that you own (not shoe or technology related) that you wear all the time?

Hmm, probably socks? I will never ever run without socks. I hate the feeling of sweaty feet sliding around in shoes. Also my feet blister quite easily so I can only imagine the grossness that would occur if I didn’t have some sort of decent (and fairly thin) moisture wicking socks. My favorite socks are ProCompression. They’re relatively thin (my feet get really hot) yet compression, thus reducing swelling and blisters in my feet.

boppin along in my ProCompressions

boppin along in my ProCompressions

2. Do you wear different shoes for different workouts, or do you wear the same shoes all the time?

Different shoes. Long runs typically get the shoes I would wear in a marathon (Adidas Adios) or something with a bit more protection.

I love you

I love you

For speedwork I used to wear my Saucony A5, but I haven’t done any of that for a while and they’re worn out. I might get the A6 to replace them when I feel up to returning to speed work.

For strength workouts I wear either the New Balance Minimus or Mizuno Wave Universe, but preferably the Universe. There’s not much to them, so when I do my exercises I can feel the muscles in my feet and ankles working quite a bit.

3. What is your favorite post workout snack?

FOOD.

Ok I’ll be more specific. Usually I like a smoothie if I’m not too hungry or I need something quick. It could be some chocolate VegaOne powder with coconut water/milk, something made from whatever I have in my fridge (possibly ingredients include almond milk, coconut milk, hemp seeds, chia seeds, kale or spinach, berries, banana, gelatin powder…), or a Jugo Juice smoothie.

My 'alien grey' post run smoothie (more delicious that it looks). Banana, coconut milk, spinach, blueberries, gelatin, almond butter.

My ‘alien grey’ post run smoothie (more delicious that it looks). Banana, coconut milk, spinach, blueberries, gelatin, almond butter.

After long runs or a really hard workout, I’ll usually crave meatballs.

4. Do you listen to music when you run? Why or why not?

Yes, I usually will.  I like that music makes me feel like I’m in a movie of sorts, and that I have a soundtrack going on. It helps me get in a confident mindset. I’ll also listen to audiobooks if I’m doing something where I don’t have to push myself hard, but could use some entertainment (easy runs, long runs, pool runs).

5. Do you prefer to run in a loop or run an out and back?

I’m not too picky and both have their pros and cons. Loops can be fun since the scenery is different the whole say, but out and back takes less planning. If I’m running in a new area I’ll do an out and back so I don’t get lost and/or confused. If I don’t know how long I’ll run for, I’ll do laps of the 5k loop near my house.

6. Why do you blog?

Since I previously didn’t know too many other runners, I found reading other people’s running blogs helpful in learning more about running. I would learn how they trained, why they made certain decisions and how they’ve progressed. I find this really encouraging because when you’re just figuring things out for yourself, it’s kind of scary.

I started my blog to add my experiences to the mix, so that maybe some day they will help someone else along in their own running journey.

7. What is your number one goal for this year?

To stop being injured.

I would still love to BQ, but so far that’s not going too well so I was forced to reevaluate. If I end up making it, great. If not, there’s always other years. But I will not get there if I don’t heal up.

8. Tell me about your favorite race medal.

I have two. My first favorite is my 3rd place Age Group medal from the 2013 Drumheller Half Marathon. I had never officially placed in running before (or since), and it wasn’t that small of a field so I’m quite proud of it.

Image

My second is the Austin Half Marathon medal because it’s huge and has Willy Nelson on it, which I think is rad.

(source)

9. What motivates you to get outside and train on cold/snowy/rainy days?

The satisfaction I get out of slaying a run against all odds. It makes me feel bad ass, like I can conquer anything.

Image

this is what happens when you run in -30C (oof)

this is what happens when you run in -30C (oof)

10. What is your most memorable run?

It’s a tossup between my first marathon (Portland, 2011) and the 2013 Vancouver Marathon.

Running my first full was an incredible experience. It was new ground for me, going way beyond what I ever thought was possible for me to achieve. It changed my life.

The moment I crossed the finish line, and was hooked on the full forever.

The moment I crossed the finish line, and was hooked on the full forever.

Then last years Vancouver Marathon was as close to a perfect race as I’ve experienced. The weather was great, fueling went perfectly, my playlist was on point, mentally I was in a great place the whole run, and I PR’d by about 20 minutes. I couldn’t have asked for much more! My lovely boyfriend biked the course and met me in several places, and his family cheered me on at the finish. My heart fills with joy thinking about that day.

:)

🙂

 

So that’s it! That was fun. Thanks Leana!

So I nominate:

Striding Mom

Sprouts n Squats

Solana Leigh

Running with Rhyno

Yuri in a Hurry

Read.Bake.Run.Repeat

Swift Fox

And my questions for you are….

1) Would you rather carry water/electrolytes during a race or use what’s on course? Why?

2) What kind of shoes do you wear? Have you followed any shoe fads (ie minimalism, maximalism, toe shoes)?

3) Do you run with a GPS watch? What kind?

4) Who would be your dream running partner?

5) Does your significant other run (if you have one)? If you don’t have one, would that be a necessary requirement?

6) What is your most embarrassing running mishap?

7) If you could go anywhere in the world for a run (doesn’t have to be a race), where would you go? Post a picture.

8) What do you think about when you run?

9) Do you have any weird habits or superstitions when it comes to running/racing?

10) If you’re starting to slump in a race or run, what do you tell yourself to get you to push through?

Thanks guys! And if anyone else wants to answer these, leave your responses in the comments below!

 

 

 

 

 

 

What is one piece of gear you own (not shoe or technology related) that you wear all the time? – See more at: http://www.runnerleana.com/#sthash.vkqYUgl4.dpuf
  • What is one piece of gear you own (not shoe or technology related) that you wear all the time?
  • Do you wear different shoes for different workouts, or do you wear the same shoes all the time?
  • What is your favourite post workout snack?
  • Do you listen to music when you run?  Why or why not?
  • Do you prefer to run in a loop or run an out and back?
  • Why do you blog?
  • What is your number one goal for this year?
  • Tell me about your favourite race medal.
  • What motivates you to get outside and train on cold/snowy/rainy days?
  • What is your most memorable run?

– See more at: http://www.runnerleana.com/#sthash.vkqYUgl4.dpuf

  • What is one piece of gear you own (not shoe or technology related) that you wear all the time?
  • Do you wear different shoes for different workouts, or do you wear the same shoes all the time?
  • What is your favourite post workout snack?
  • Do you listen to music when you run?  Why or why not?
  • Do you prefer to run in a loop or run an out and back?
  • Why do you blog?
  • What is your number one goal for this year?
  • Tell me about your favourite race medal.
  • What motivates you to get outside and train on cold/snowy/rainy days?
  • What is your most memorable run?

– See more at: http://www.runnerleana.com/#sthash.vkqYUgl4.dpuf

2 thoughts on “Liebster

  1. Love your answers! And awesome post freezing run picture! Frozen eyelashes! Now that’s brutal! Haha I enjoy reading other runners blogs for tips and inspiration – so happy I came across yours! 🙂

  2. Being injury free is a very good goal to have. It has become a priority for me because of the injuries I have had the last couple of years and so far so good. 🙂 Great answers, it was fun learning a little more about you. lol.

Leave a Reply

