Where have I been?

Why hello, it’s been a while, hasn’t it?

The past six months of my life has been… interesting. I’ve started many posts to try to pull together all the events and emotions without getting too personal, negative, or falsely optimistic and this has obviously not fared too well. But not that the dust has settled and things have calmed down, I can look back and make some sense out of life again.

Within a month, I had a grandparent fall ill, a break up, a friend’s sudden passing, and a diagnosis of a stress fracture in my 3rd metatarsal, all while still adjusting to a new role in a new company. The resulting fall out was a major life adjustment and the loss of some friendships, but also a new found focus on self love and appreciation.

Fat Foot.

Fat Foot.

I have learned how to set boundaries, speak up for myself and how to focus on what is important, like succeeding at my new job and the physical recovery of my foot. I’ve learned the priorities of other people in my life (both good and bad), and who to rely on during tough times and who not to, subsequently “weeding the garden”. Through taking a step back from pretty much everything, I’ve been able to pick and choose what to allow back into my life. I’ve also found a new partner who is equally as ambitious creatively and athletically as myself. We’ve enjoyed many a mountain adventure this summer, and have plans for many more.

photo

All my running plans were thrown out the window this year, but I took this down time to heal any nagging injuries and focus on coming back stronger in 2016. I solemnly swear that from now on I will do more preventative maintenance so I am not plagued by injury after injury. Kelly Starrett is my new best friend.

I’ve been slowly building up my running again. In June I started walk:run intervals of 5:1 minutes, and now I’m up to 1:3, which finally feels like a “run”. I’ve been cleared by physio to run a 5k race on September 26, which although it will be likely very slow, I am definitely looking forward to it.

I’ve been toying with the idea of rebranding and recreating this blog to something that more accurately reflects the trajectory my life is now heading in, but I’m unsure if I will or what that will look like. But until then, I think I’ll keep updating this one and figure the rest out along with way (kind of a metaphor for life, ha!).

7 thoughts on “Where have I been?

  1. Welcome back Victoria 🙂 I’m happy you’ve evolved. I know firsthand that sometimes we need to disconnect from our “online” lives when things get tough. I’m glad you’re feeling better and I’m EXTRA glad that you’re being smart about your recovery! It’ll make you so much stronger!

    Looking forward to seeing you this weekend (I hope?)

    Cheers my friend

    xo

  2. Welcome back. Sounds like you have had a lot on your plate these last few months. (I love Kelly S. too. Do you have any of his books?) Taking a step back is something everybody should do – step back & re-evaluate. Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

